Eggies Retrieved

Well, I am pleased to announce that we retrieved 20 eggs this morning! I am still slowly coming out of the anesthesia cloud so I haven’t really had a chance to absorb it all yet.  I just hope that most of these eggs will be mature, will actually fertilize and then make it to freeze so I don’t have to go through this process again. Wow. I can’t believe this is all really happening.  Has it really hit me yet?

The whole retrieval process wasn’t too bad. The procedure itself only took only about 15 minutes (I think) and besides some cramping right after, was not painful at all.  After popping a few Tylenol,  I have felt fine all day. Just veeeeeerrrry drowsy!

I must say that the experience would have been so much better if we had had a private room! I just hate those day surgery rooms! As soon as we walked in, all we saw was a bunch of women on beds with their husbands beside them. This was kind of awkward and depressing, as was watching them all get wheeled in and out of the surgery room. I also did not really enjoy walking into the restroom with my “johnny” on, just barely flashing my ass to everyone. OK, so maybe I am just a wimp with little to no surgery experience. I guess I just have to grow up and suck it up.

Another strange part of the day was being in a hospital bed and gown, IV in arm, with my hubby there next to me, but not having a baby there with us to take home. As soon as I woke up, I immediately started crying because I felt like I should have had a baby there to hold. I know that I was just emotional from the drugs, but it still felt like something was missing.

I really hope this week goes by fast. I feel well enough to go to work tomorrow, which I guess will be a good distraction. It will be interesting that is for sure.

7 responses to “Eggies Retrieved

  1. That’s a great number of eggs! I’ll be sending good fertilization thoughts your way.

  2. Wonderful news! Congrats on getting such a great amount of eggs!

  3. Wahoo! Great News! I hope next time you do have that baby.

  4. wowzas!!! that’s amazing!!! with that many eggs you’ve got all the chances in the world. can’t wait to hear how many are fertilized!

  5. Whoo hoo!!! 20 eggies? That is awesome girlie 🙂 I’m sending fert vibes your way for every single one of those eggies.

    I know how you feel in regards to the surgery cattle call. It’s a very weird experience to see all the beds lined up with the girls waiting to be “harvested” and concerned hubbies by their sides.
    I hope you never ever have to do it again.

  6. WOW that is alot of eggs! Praying for a great fertilization report (hug)

  7. holy moly! 20 eggs! yaaaaay! congrats momma! you are a fantastic egg grower! thanks so much for sharing your experience through the ER process. i hope you never ever have to have a surgery experience again. can’t wait to hear the fertilization report! i am on the edge of my seat! xoxo!

Leave a Reply

