Dear Baby

Dear Son/Daughter,

Someday when you grow up, you may realize and understand just how excited mommy and daddy were for  you to join our family. We had been dreaming about you our entire lives and couldn’t wait for you to arrive. While we haven’t met you yet, we already love you so much.

Unfortunately we needed to wait a little longer than we had thought for your arrival. While we waited, we did our best to grow as individuals and in our marriage so that we could be the best mommy and daddy we could be. We prepared ourselves mentally, emotionally and spiritually and knew that being parents to YOU would be the most important thing we would ever do. We made lists of all of the places where we want to take you and all of the things we wanted to show you. I made lists of names for you and saved my childhood books so that someday I could read them to you. Daddy couldn’t wait to take you camping, and to teach you how to ski and ride a bike. I couldn’t wait to hold you in my arms and experience every bit of life with you. Mostly, we just wanted to finally see you, know you and love you.

We promise and hope to be the best parents we can be. You will always know that you are loved.  We have already made sacrifices for you and will continue to do so to make sure that you will always have everything you need. We want you to be confident, happy and to follow your dreams. We will do our best to teach you how to be a good friend and a good person. Each time your heart is broken we will be there to hold you and comfort you. We will love you for who you are.  You will always have our support and guidance, and with everything you do, we will be there in the front row cheering you on.

Right now, we are missing a piece and that piece is you. We are so excited to be your mommy and daddy and hope that by next Christmas you will finally be here with us, filling our hearts with joy. You will be the greatest blessing of our lives.

6 responses to “Dear Baby

  1. This is just so sweet … it made me cry.

  2. i love this! so sweet. it’s obvious that you will be wonderful parents.

  3. What a beautiful post. Thank you for sharing.

  4. HI there – beautiful post. I’m hoping and praying for you.

  5. I just wanted to let you know, whomever you may be, that reading your blog today helped me. I google “still not pregnant” or “hoping for a baby” sometimes and find information that doesn’t really help me do anything but continue to question why this is happening to me, but your blog made me feel like I’m not in this alone. My husband and I are about to face fertility testing and I’m scared shitless. I still have this ludicrous hope that right before the testing we’ll get a positive on an HPT. Why does it have to be so hard? Why are we the people going through this while all our friends are having babies? I don’t know. I do know that I’m not alone, and you’re not alone, and at the end of the day we have our husbands who love us to lean on. That’s all I know. In that I’ll find comfort. Thank you for sharing your heart…it helped mine.

Leave a Reply

