IUI#4 Complete.. I almost forgot

IUI#4 was completed yesterday morning and I almost forgot because it was so anti-climactic. Besides the fact that I had to pop a few Tylenol afterwards for some crampiness, I havent even thought about it that much. I even stupidly took Advil beforehand to ease cramping during the procedure. (Duh- you are only supposed to take Tylenol). I waited 45 minutes in the waiting room reading the same old magazines that I have read two times before.  The sample looked good–77 million spermies. Then back to work and back to mundane motherhood-free life as I know it.  Of course I’m already Im convinced that it didnt work. I know that I have vowed not to rush my life away during these treatments but  I do want to fast forward the next two weeks of nasty progesterone suppositories and their shitty side effects.

I just want to know for sure that I will be doing IVF. I need to mentally and emotionally prepare. Im already planning on it. DH was looking at vacation packages for mid-January and I told him we cant plan for that month since I might be doing IVF stuff. Im already wondering if I will be up for a bruins/rangers game with friends on Jan 9th since I’ll be in full fledged medication mode and definitely wont be in the mood to sit SOBER in some cold stadium surrounded by a bunch of drunk dudes in awful hockey jerseys.

Got a call this morning that my cousin had her 2nd baby. She is 3 years younger than me and is the only one in the family who has produced any members of the next generation. My aunt and uncle were giddy with excitement.. which only made me sad for my parents that they cannot experience this same joy. Christmas should be really fun as her 2 babies sit there cooing away, while everyone spies at my empty womb.  I have only one more birth to survive this year thank god–and it’s my “insensitive” friend. She has a C-section scheduled on the same day I get my beta results! Fucking Awesome.

3 responses to “IUI#4 Complete.. I almost forgot

  1. 999 Reasons to Laugh at IF has a post about pre-failing ART treatments, and given your comment that you already think the IUI didn’t work, you should hop over and read her post about it- it’s hilarious and will (hopefully) bring a smile to your face 🙂

    Incidentally, I hope this IUI will surprise you and be THE ONE that works- your DH’s sample numbers were great!

    I’m sorry about your cousin and the upcoming holidays being around her kids…luckily I don’t have to deal with that yet..I will be praying that people are compassionate to you! I will also be praying that you and your friend get good news on the same day- a healthy baby and a healthy beta!

  2. I have a ton of hope for you, but I know exactly how you’re feeling. I was already moving on to IVF in my mind before my last IUI was done. In fact, I booked the IVF consult during the 2ww. It helped me to have my back up plan already set in motion. But then when I went for the IVF consult and they told me I could start my pre-IVF cycle right away, I freaked about how fast it happened. I’m slowly getting used to the idea. This IF stuff is mind bending.

    The holidays will be tough, we have to stick together!

  3. I’m going to remain hopeful for you, too! C’mon, IUI #4, be the one!!

Leave a Reply

